Don’t Run: The Consequences of a Hit and Run in Florida
If you have been involved in a traffic accident, you may be nervous about its impact on your driver’s license and insurance rates. However, suppose you flee the accident scene without leaving your information or exchanging contact information with the other driver. In that case, you could face even more severe consequences than those related to your driving record, including jail time and fines.
Read on to learn more about what happens when you get involved in a hit-and-run accident and why avoiding it at all costs is essential to your long-term freedom and driving record.
The following are different kinds of a hit and run accidents:
- Leaving the Scene of an accident without property damage, a second-degree misdemeanor;
- Leaving the Scene of an accident with property damage, a first-degree misdemeanor;
- Leaving the scene of an accident with non-serious bodily injury, a third-degree felony;
- Leaving the scene of an accident with serious bodily injury, a second-degree felony;
- Leaving the scene of an accident with death, a first-degree felony.
What are the consequences of a hit-and-run accident?
If you are involved in a hit-and-run accident and are at fault, the first thing you will be liable for is any damage you caused to the other person’s property. This includes their car and any other property that was damaged due to the accident. If you don’t have insurance, or if your insurance does not cover the full extent of the damage, you will be on the hook for paying out of pocket. In some cases, this can be tens of thousands of dollars.
You will also face criminal charges. These include leaving the scene of an accident, a criminal offense in Florida. If someone was injured as a result of the accident, even if they are a passenger in your car, you can also be charged with a third- or second-degree felony depending on the level of injuries. A third-degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in prison, and a second-degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years.
If someone is killed in a car accident and you leave the scene, you can be charged with leaving the scene of an accident with death, which is a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison.
In summary, if you are involved in a hit and run, you could be on the hook for any damage. If you hit a parked car, you are responsible for the repairs. If you hit a person, you could be accountable for their medical bills and face a prison sentence.
Duty to Provide Medical Aid
Florida law requires that anyone involved in an accident where another person is injured render medical aid, if possible. Often, this failure to render medical assistance immediately after an accident results in the injured party dying from the collision. Where possible, always remember to render medical aid.
Call a lawyer!
If you are involved in a hit and run, the first thing you should do is call the best criminal defense lawyer in Miami. Brian Kirlew, Esq. is an experienced criminal defense attorney with a proven track record of success. Call our offices at 305-521-0484 or visit us online for more information at www.kirlewlawfirm.com.